The Secret Wish List

By Preeti Shenoy

On the gentle age of 16, Diksha is a regular youngster, juggling institution, boys, gossip and enjoyable together with her ally, till at some point whilst every thing alterations. An blameless teenage weigh down results in a string of irreversible occasions that adjust her lifestyles ceaselessly. Eighteen years later, Diksha - who was a happy-go-lucky and carefree character - is now a lady with solely contrary qualities. Married to a profitable expert and mom to a tender boy, she is a bored housewife donning the masks of being fortunately married. An unforeseen incident opens up avenues for Diksha to offer her lifestyles a moment likelihood and he or she creates a mystery want checklist within the wish of enjoyable her wants. Will she have the capacity to courageous this trip whereas facing the complexity of an extramarital affair? Will she have the ability to achieve the search to rediscover herself? the key want record is the adventure of a girl in the direction of getting her happiness again into her existence. it really is approximately goals and aspirations, and the hunt to determine even if real love exists or now not.

Show description

Continue reading "The Secret Wish List"

By a Thread (Elemental Assassin)

By Jennifer Estep

The 6th ebook within the USA TODAY bestselling Elemental Assassin city fable sequence that includes Gin Blanco, who through day owns a Tennessee BBQ joint, and by way of evening is a difficult lady murderer often called the Spider.

I by no means idea I’d want a holiday from being an assassin….

My identify is Gin Blanco, and I’m the murderer the Spider. the entire Ashland’s lowlifes are gunning for me and attempting to make a reputation for themselves via removing the Spider. So i feel it’s a good suggestion to get out of Ashland for some time till issues cool down.

So I’m headed south to a swanky seashore city, in addition to my child sister, Bria, for a weekend of enjoyable within the solar. but if an previous buddy of Bria’s is threatened by means of a strong vampire with lethal elemental magic, it feels like I’ll need to dig my silverstone knives out of my suitcase in spite of everything. yet this time, no longer even my very own Ice and Stone energy could be adequate to save lots of me from coming domestic in a pine field…

Show description

Continue reading "By a Thread (Elemental Assassin)"

Candy: A Novel of Love and Addiction

By Luke Davies

"Candy is beside me, sopping wet in sweat. She's respiring lightly, lengthy gradual breaths. I think her soul entering into and out: desirous to depart, eager to get back, eager to go away, desirous to get back. The day will quickly harden into what we have to do. yet for we now have one another. . . ."

He met sweet amid a lush Sydney summer time. stunning, horny, free-spirited sweet. They fell in love quick, plenty of laughter and lust, the times melting warmly into one another. He by no means deliberate to provide her a behavior. yet she sought after a flavor. And wasn't love, in the end, approximately sharing lives? sweet had a little bit cash and at first, every little thing was once attractive. Heady, heroin-hazed days, the area open and welcoming. but if the money ran out, the yearning remained, and the times ceased their sumptuous stretch.

But there has been nonetheless love. merely now, it used to be a threesome. Heroin had its personal calls for, its personal timetable, and techniques of nabbing the subsequent repair hurled them into every day. Then, whilst desperation units in, sweet will cease at not anything to safe a blast, as she and her lover develop into hostage to the nightmarish global of habit.

Painful, attractive, smooth, and charged with darkish humor, Candy provocatively charts the day-by-day rituals of 2 fanatics holding a long term junk behavior. instructed in stunningly brilliant prose and set opposed to the backdrop of suburban and concrete Australia, Candy is either an electrifying and scary glimpse of up to date lifestyles and love.

Show description

Continue reading "Candy: A Novel of Love and Addiction"

Twilight

By Kristen Heitzmann

Returning to her place of birth used to be the very last thing Laurie ever anticipated. yet with kids in tow, she needs to start anew. . . and face the lifeand manshe became her again on. Cal has been suffering from his personal difficulties, however the arrival of Laurie brings new wish and aspiring to his existence. Can he dismiss his emotions to easily be the good friend she desperately wishes? And whilst the hazards of her hidden previous threaten, can Cal conquer the haunting stories of his personal previous disasters to rescue the single girl he is ever enjoyed?

Show description

Continue reading "Twilight"

Tampico: A Novel (James A. Michener Fiction)

By Toby Olson

Four previous men—John, Gino, Larry, and Frank—have been warehoused at "the Manor," a long-eroded domestic for the forgotten. the boys take turns telling tales, stalling demise as they relive pivotal elements in their pasts. open air, the cliff crumbles and a lighthouse slips towards the sea.

John, particularly, enthralls the others along with his story of Tampico, Mexico, the place he met an Indian lady named Chepa who owned a home on the fringe of a mountain desert. She was once his first love—and his first lesson within the risks of overseas intrigue. yet his isn't the basically reminiscence haunted via mysteries born in Mexico. ailing of anticipating dying, stirred by way of the transferring flooring underneath their ft, the Manor's citizens eventually unravel to hand over that position and head out for Tampico.

With inexorable pull, and delightful scenes that may simply come from Toby Olson, Tampico celebrates an elegant band of calaveras, "those skeleton messengers of mortality," who search self-discovery whilst their lives are ending.

Show description

Continue reading "Tampico: A Novel (James A. Michener Fiction)"

Elephant in the Sky: A Novel

By Heather A Clark

A testomony to the therapeutic strength of unconditional love.

Widely acclaimed for her emotionally strong tales that catch the true lives of ladies, Heather A. Clark, bestselling writer of Chai Tea Sunday, tackles the topic of youth psychological disorder and the effect it has on an in depth family.

The tale starts off from nine-year-old Nate’s viewpoint, etching the main points of an unbalanced brain suffering to make feel of rampant inspiration styles and heightened paranoia. input Ashley, Nate's mom, and a hardworking advertisements govt involved that she’s no longer giving her relations sufficient of her time — specially now that she senses anything may be incorrect along with her son. because the tale strikes deftly backward and forward among the 2 views, the narrative converges to bare one family's trip of discovery as they try to discover stability of their lives.

Based on a real tale, Elephant within the Sky articulates a classy, real-life topic with grace, knowledge and sensitivity, and wonderfully explores the gap a mom will visit safeguard her child.

Show description

Continue reading "Elephant in the Sky: A Novel"

The Girls in the Garden: A Novel

By Lisa Jewell

One of People’s, Glamour’s, and Buzzfeed's top Reads of Summer

“Jewell expertly builds suspense by way of piling up family misunderstandings and extra plot twists than an SVU episode. It’s a page-turner for readers who like seashore reads at the darkish side.” —People

Imagine that you just continue to exist a picturesque communal backyard sq., an oasis in city London the place your kids run unfastened, out and in of alternative people’s homes. You’ve identified your pals for years and also you belief them. Implicitly. you're thinking that your kids are secure. yet are they really?

On a midsummer evening, as a festive local get together is happening, preteen Pip discovers her thirteen-year-old sister Grace mendacity subconscious and bloody in a hidden nook of a lush rose backyard. What fairly occurred to her? And who's responsible?

“Full of suspense but emotionally grounded…Fans of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Carla Buckley will adore this peek within a gated neighborhood that really looks after its personal, irrespective of the consequences." —Booklist (starred review)

Show description

Continue reading "The Girls in the Garden: A Novel"

Hopes and Impediments: Selected Essays

By Chinua Achebe

Essentially the most provocative and unique voices in modern literature, Chinua Achebe right here considers where of literature and artwork in our society in a suite of essays spanning his top writing and lectures from the final twenty-three years. For Achebe, overcoming is going hand in hand with removing the harmful results of racism and injustice in Western society. He unearths the impediments that also stand within the means of open, equivalent discussion among Africans and Europeans, among blacks and whites, but in addition instills us with desire that they're going to quickly be conquer.

Show description

Continue reading "Hopes and Impediments: Selected Essays"

Claire of the Sea Light (Vintage Contemporaries)

By Edwidge Danticat

A New York occasions ebook Review and Washington put up Notable e-book of the 12 months, an NPR "Great Read," a Christian technological know-how Monitor Best Fiction e-book, and a Library Journal best Book

Just as her father makes the wrenching determination to ship her away for an opportunity at a greater lifestyles, Claire Limyè Lanmè—Claire of the ocean Light—suddenly disappears. because the humans of the Haitian seashore neighborhood of Ville Rose look for her, painful secrets and techniques, haunting thoughts, and startling truths are unearthed. during this gorgeous novel approximately intertwined lives, Edwidge Danticat crafts a tightly woven, breathtaking tapestry that explores the mysterious bonds we share—with the wildlife and with one another.

Show description

Continue reading "Claire of the Sea Light (Vintage Contemporaries)"

Littlejohn

By Howard Owen

Now to be had in paperback, comes a winning and beautifully-written novel a couple of good North Carolina farmer haunted via blunders and redeemed by way of religion. Painstakingly sincere, Littlejohn is "a personality as totally rounded in his quirks and imperfections, in his quiet decision and bravado, as any in contemporary fiction."--Washington put up. nationwide interpreting journey.

Show description

Continue reading "Littlejohn"